This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

El Cuervo de Sevilla (Municipality, Andalusia, Spain)

Last modified: 2020-04-25 by ivan sache
Keywords: el cuervo de sevilla |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors


Flag of El Cuervo de Sevilla - Image from the Símbolos de Sevilla website, 1 June 2014

See also:

Presentation of El Cuervo de Sevilla

The municipality of El Cuervo de Sevilla (8,721 inhabitants in 2014; 3,043 ha; municipal website) is located on the border with the Province of Cádiz, 70 km south of Seville, 50 km of Cádiz and 20 km of Jerez de la Frontera.

El Cuervo de Sevilla was already settled in the Roman times; a big town and several estates were established 3 km east of El Cuervo, near the Via Augusta, the road that connected Rome and Cádiz. El Cuervo was mentioned in the sharing of the land reconquerred from the Moors, ordered in 1274 by King Alfonso X the Wise.
The first modern settlement emerged in El Cuervo near a post established on Road National No. 4 that succeeded the Via Augusta. The Santa Inés inn was the first shop established there. In the 1950s-1970s, several immigrants from other towns in the neighborhood, such as Lebrija, Arcos, Medina, Bornos and Algodonales, moved to El Cuervo.
The municipality of El Cuervo de Sevila was established on 19 December 1992, separating from Lebrija. The separation was pushed by the lawyer José Antonio Gallego González.

Ivan Sache, 1 June 2014

Symbols of El Cuervo de Sevilla

The flag and arms of El Cuervo de Sevilla, adopted on 30 April 1993 by the Municipal Council and validated on 7 October 1994 by the Royal Academy of History, are prescribed by Decree No. 52, adopted on 1 March 1995 by the Government of Andalusia and published on 18 April 1995 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 59, p. 3,310 (text). This was confirmed by a Decree adopted on 30 November 2004 by the Directorate General of the Local Administration and published on 20 December 2004 in the official gazette of Andalusia, No. 246, pp. 28,986-29,002 (text).
The symbols are prescribed as follows:

Flag: Rectangular, horizontally divided in three stripes of equal width, the upper, black, the central, white, and the lower, celestial blue.
Coat of arms: Argent a crow sable facing dexter on a mount vert a cart's wheel proper in chief dexter. The shield surmounted by a Royal Spanish crown.

The flag in use (photo, photo, photo; video) is charged in the center with the municipal coat of arms.

The arms are canting, showing a crow (cuervo). The cart's wheel recalls the origin of the town, as a post on the road. The mount represents the Sierra de Gibalín.
[Escudos y Banderas de las Entidades Locales de Andalucia. SevillaPDF file]

Ivan Sache & Klaus-Michael Schneider, 1 June 2014