This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Municipality of Selfkant (Germany)

Gemeinde Selfkant, Kreis Heinsberg, Northrhine-Westphalia

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: selfkant | roses(8) | rose tree |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Selfkant banner]   image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 Aug 2011
approved 27 February 1970 See also:


Description of banner:
The ratio is approx 3:1. It is a vertical 5-stripes flag red - white - red - white red with ratio approx 3:1:3:1:3. The upper third is a square white bannerhead containing the figures of the coat of arms.
Source: photo gallery of the local firebrigade within municipality's webpage and
2(3) of Hauptsatzung of the municipality of Selfkant
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 Aug 2011

Flag for Citizens

[Selfkant citizen's flag] 3:5  image by Klaus-Michael Schneider, 11 Nov 2011

Description of flag:
The ratio is 3:5. It is 5-stripes flag, divided by alternating red and white stripes. The red stripes are broader. (According to the document of approval the ratio should be 3:2:3:2:3. But according to the images the white stripes are narrower). The coat of arms is in the centre of the flag.
According to Gerd Passen, chairman of a club suppoting local tradition and culture, this flag has been made for private use by the citizens. The city uses the banner exclusively.
Source: Painting located by Gerd Passen and photo located by Jan Mertens
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 11 Nov 2011

Coat of Arms

Description of coat of arms:
In a silver (= white) field is a S-shaped, green rose tree with ten leaves, four thorns and eight heraldical red roses seeded golden (= yellow) and barbed green.
According to source the roses are symbolizing the eight municipalities forming the current one. Those are the municipalities of Selfkant subcounty (Amt), which had been established, after the Netherlands gave back the region to Germany on 1 August 1963: Havert, Hillensberg, Höngen, Millen, Süsterseel, Tüddern, Wehr. On 1 July 1969 the subcounty and the municipality of Saeffelen were united forming the municipality of Selfkant. The rose tree appeared on old seals of Millen. The shape of the tree is the initial of the municipality's name.
Source: Nagel 1986 and 2(2) of Hauptsatzung of the municipality of Selfkant
Klaus-Michael Schneider, 25 Aug 2011

Banner and coat of arms were approved by Regierungspräsident Aachen on 27 February 1970.

back to Heinsberg cities and municipalities click here.