This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Heide County (Germany)

Heidekreis, Lower Saxony

Last modified: 2017-11-11 by klaus-michael schneider
Keywords: soltau-fallingbostel | heidekreis |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Heidekreis county flag] 3:5  image by Jörg Majewski, 8 Jan 2008
flag adopted 2 April 1979 See also:

Heide County

county: Heidekreis
county seat: Bad Fallingbostel
area: 1,873.50 qkm
population: 142,678
divisions: 23 municipalities, incl. 16 in 3 Samtgemeinden*, 6 market towns
Flag adopted 2nd April 1979
CoA adopted 2nd April 1979

*A "Samtgemeinde" (SG*), also called "comprehensive municipality" is an amalgamation of several cities,market towns and municipalities in one administrative community in Lower Saxony
** A "Flecken" is a town (market town) with minor rights in comparison with a city.

Jörg Majewski, 8 Jan 2008

Coat of Arms of former Soltau County

[Heidekreis county arms] image by Jörg Majewski, 8 Jan 2008
adopted 2 Apr 1979
Sources: Ralf Hartemink and Stadler 1964,p.84

The former Soltau-Fallingbostel County was renamed to Heidekreis on 1 August by approvement of the prime minister of Lower Saxony.

back to index of Lower Saxony county-free cities and counties page click here